2022 Winners

Ann Shuttleworth Rising Star Award

Winner : Amy Turton | Herefordshire and Worcestershire Health and Care NHS Trust

Sponsored by:

Chief Nursing Officers’ Award for Lifetime Achievement

Winner : Diane Murray | Scottish Government

Sponsored by:

Cancer Nursing

Winner: St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust | Introduction of a brain cancer optimisation pathway

Care of Older People

Winner: Taff Ely Primary Care Cluster Services and Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board | Frailty nursing

Children’s Services

Winner: Practice Plus Group | Implementing an annual health review in a young offender's institute

Clinical Research Nursing

Winner : University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust | Utilising joint roles to maximise collaboration, integration and opportunity for clinical research

Sponsored by:

Continence Promotion and Care

Winner: Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust | Improving patient outcomes in urinary incontinence in chronic cough

Sponsored by:

Managing Long-term Conditions

Winner: North Middlesex University Hospital NHS Trust| Improving the lives of children, young people and families living with allergic conditions in urban North London

Emergency and Critical Care

Winner: Sandwell and West Birmingham NHS Trust | Improving the care and management of alcohol dependent patients in the emergency department

Enhancing Patient Dignity

Winner:  North Staffordshire Combined Healthcare NHS Trust  | Recovery Book

Sponsored by:

HRH The Prince of Wales Award for Integrated Approaches to Care

Winner:  The Hospice Charity Partnership | Personal health budgets for end-of-life patients

Sponsored by:

Infection Prevention and Control

Winner: Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust | Improving the care of central lines 

Learning Disabilities Nursing

Winner:  The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust | Eight week surgical pathway

Sponsored by:

Nurse Leader of the Year

Winner:  Judith-Marie Rose | Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust

Sponsored by:

Nurse of the Year

Winner:  Anne Biggs | North Middlesex University Hospital NHS Trust

Sponsored by:

Nursing in Mental Health

Winner: East London NHS Foundation Trust | Bow Ward trauma informed care

Nursing in Social Care

Winner:  The OakLeaf Group | Tier 2 weight management

Sponsored by:

Nursing in the Community

Winner: Sussex Community NHS Foundation Trust | Deteriorating patient, palliative care and end of life in homeless health: education programme for non-clinical frontline staff

Patient Safety Improvement

Winner:  Lancashire and South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust | Recovery riders

Sponsored by:

Promoting Patient Self-management

Winner: Powys Teaching Health Board | Use of MOPEE-C in supporting children and young people to self-manage bladder and bowel dysfunction

Public Health Nursing

Winner : Brent Council | Better health on your doorstep

Sponsored by:

Respiratory Nursing

Winner: Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust | Improving patient outcomes in urinary incontinence in chronic cough

Team of the Year

Winner:  Lancashire and South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust | Recovery riders

Sponsored by:

Technology and Data in Nursing

Winner: Health Education England | CapitalNurse IV therapy passport

Theatre and Surgical Nursing

Winner:  The Leeds Teaching Hospital NHS Trust | Neurosurgery higher observation bay

Sponsored by: